100 Posts

This is my 100th post! I’ve kept this blog for two years, which averages about one post a week. While it started out more like 2-3 a week, I’ve gotten through my backlog of reviews and have moved on to actively reviewing books as I read them. I have really enjoyed both writing about the books I love (or hate) and reviewing my own reviews. Looking back, it’s fun to remind myself of why I felt a certain way about a book. I read so many books that it is relatively easy to forget details from ones that didn’t make the five-star level. I use my own Shelves page as a collection of the books I thought worthy of review.

I do read quite a few more books than just the ones I review on here, so I still use Goodreads for that, but for in-depth memories of books, I love rereading my own old reviews. This also brings up some pretty interesting comparisons with how I used to write the reviews, how I write them now, and what I’ve seen and enjoyed in other reviewer’s writings. A lot has changed, but also, a lot has stayed the same–even with the way I write them. I usually write my opinions first–what I thought, things that bugged me, things that really worked–and then a summary of plot, setting, and characters to inform about the book.

If you are a reviewer, is there a certain way you write? If you are a reader, is there something you’re sick of reading about? Is there something you would like to see in my, or other, reviews?

I’ve been reading a lot of fantasy lately, with one sci-fi review coming up soon. However, I love literary fiction and do miss reading it. Are there any books that you’d recommend, or would like to see reviewed? My birthday is coming up, and I usually get myself books galore. Any suggestions for my Barnes and Noble trip?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Smart Guy
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 17:38:42

    Congrats on keeping up with it for so long! I know how hard it is to blog – it took me a full year to do my latest post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

