31 Day Book List Roundup

I would like to finish off my list of favorites and whatnot that I started last year, because I got super busy with friends and family at the end of December and never had a chance to think about this or update my blog. Feel free to comment with your own favorites, or adapt the list for a month of your own favorites!

Day 15 – Favorite male character: Kvothe from The Kingkiller Chronicles (Patrick Rothfuss). He is a tragic, musically talented, mystical dude who rocks.

Day 16 – Favorite female character: Vin from the Mistborn series (Brandon Sanderson). She starts off with extreme issues of self-doubt and poverty and whatnot, and ends up a kickass character who I loved to read about.

Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book:
“Then I played the song that hides in the center of me. That wordless music that moves through the secret places in my heart. I played it carefully, strumming it slow and low into the dark stillness of the night. I would like to say it is a happy song, that it is sweet and bright, but it is not.” It is from The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss; the quote encapsulates everything I think Kvothe represents. I love it.

Day 18 – A book that disappointed you: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare. I really enjoyed every one of her books until I read that one. It disheartened me.

Day 19 – Favorite book turned into a movie: Probably Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer. It’s actually the reason I bought and read the novel. The movie was really moving, and Elijah Wood did a great job as JSF.

Day 20 – Favorite romance book: I don’t really read romance novels… I guess Memoirs of a Geisha was sort of a romance? That one was really good.

Day 21 – Favorite book from your childhood: Shel Silverstein’s poetry books. I have them all and love them dearly.

Day 22 – Favorite book you own: Everything is Illuminated (Jonathan Safran Foer), just for the fun cover and language.

Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t: Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Day 24 – A book that you wish more people have read: Any books from the Abhorsen trilogy. I have found very few people who have read it. Which to me is odd, because it is one of my favorite series ever. I suppose if I had to pick one book from it, I would pick Sabriel, because that’s sort of the starting point in the series.

Day 25 – A character who you can relate to the most: Lirael (Lirael by Garth Nix). She was who I empathized with when I was younger. Quiet, self-reliant, felt like an outcast, felt unskilled where others excelled. She worked in the Library and her best friend was a talking dog. She was everything I needed in a fictional character for a long time.

Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something: Hero of Ages (Brandon Sanderson). It gave me hope and made me stop being such a nihilist.

Day 27 – The most surprising plot twist or ending: Because I feel I shouldn’t go with Fight Club, I will pick The Lottery (Shirley Jackson). Admittedly, it is only a short story, but the ending was haunting when paired with the apparently serene small-town vibe the beginning of the story puts off.

Day 28 – Favorite title: The Perks of Being A Wallflower. It just appeals to me.

Day 29 – Favorite book cover: Doodling by Jonathon Gould. The cover is dark and bright at the same time, and it really drew me to the novella.

Day 30 – A book everyone hated but you liked: Perhaps Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy. I read this for a women’s lit. class and really enjoyed it. I ended up doing my final project on it… and I don’t know how much my classmates enjoyed it, but it definitely wasn’t nearly as much as I did.

Day 31 – Your favorite book of all time: This is a really, really, really hard choice. It changes every time I read a new book. What I’m reading is usually my favorite. I can’t pick just one! I literally cannot pick a book. I might have to say The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett, because I just finished it and it was brilliant. If you want to learn about the book, check out the goodreads description, at least until I put my review up!

 

Leave a Reply

