31 Day Book List: Week 2

This wraps up the second week of looking back at books I’ve read… The hardest thing for me to do is pick a generic favorite of anything. I have favorite authors of genres, favorite books of genres, but favorite authors and favorite books? It is almost impossible for me to choose, and the choices I make change every month.

Day 8 – Most overrated book: I suppose I would have to say Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I thought I was really going to enjoy this book, but it turned out to be pretty dry, in my opinion. The only part I enjoyed was when Frankenstein’s monster talked about the family that he spied on and tried to communicate with.

Day 9 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving: A Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy. I read this for a women’s lit. course, and honestly I thought I wouldn’t like any of those books. I liked the majority of them. This one was futuristic and pro-sustainability; it was fascinating, and I ended up doing my final project/paper on it.

Day 10 – Favorite classic book: If I have to go with something other than a sci-fi classic (1984), I would probably pick A Separate Peace. I don’t know exactly what it was about that book, but after I read it, everything felt different. It is a quiet, haunting book, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Day 11 – A book you hated: Quantum Leap: Novel. I tried to read this in high school; tried and failed. I get that it was based off a television show, but I don’t think that gives it an excuse to be SO horribly written. I honestly could not get past the terrible excuse for writing that was the first chapter.

Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore: I actually have to go with a series here. The Artemis Fowl series used to be my favorite, but something just got lost as I aged… Maybe there were just too many new books in the series; I’m not sure. Anywho, the first few books in the series were excellent.

Day 13 – Your favorite writer: Although I’ve only read two books by him, I might have to say Patrick Rothfuss. The writing in his books is amazing, I get caught up in his incredible prose, and I am over-eagerly awaiting his third novel.

Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer: The Wise Man’s Fear; I just can’t get over how awesome this book was… Content and style were both the pinnacle of what I want in a book.

Leave a Reply

