Norton Anthology of English Literature Volume 2

I feel a tad sorry that I’ve been posting so few reviews, but I feel even worse that I’ve gotten to read so little lately. I was on break from school this whole past week, and I managed to read almost nothing and play many more video games than I’d gotten to play at school. I was replaying through Borderlands, which if you haven’t played… go buy it now! It’s been out for a few years, and it will be a great thing to have played when Borderlands 2 comes out. I’m also still playing through Lost Odyssey (currently on disc 3 of 4). I’ve also been burning through season 4 of Lost, which is getting really interesting… It was a nice break, but I’m excited to start reading again!

The Norton Anthology of English Literature, Volume 2: The Romantic Period through the Twentieth CenturyAnother reason I’ve been avoiding reading more than necessary is the guilt I feel associated with only pleasure reading rather than the class reading I know I should be doing. That can really be attributed to the 3,000 page beast that is the Norton Anthology of English Literature Volume 2. For my major British authors class, we’ve read a few selections from authors like William Blake, Mary Wallstonecraft, Jane Austen, Wordsworth, Coleridge, and many others for our Romantic Era unit. It turns out I’m not a huge fan of the Romantic Era… although I really enjoyed Austen’s “Love and Friendship,” a terrific satire of Romantic literature.

We are currently studying the Victorian Era, which is why we read the oh-so-lovely North and South, which I’ve expressed my views on… Luckily, we get to read some Oscar Wilde soon, so maybe that will save the Victorian Era for me.

Our next unit is “The Twentieth Century,” which I’m hoping will catch my interest more than the last two. We’re reading some Yeats, T.S. Eliot, Woolf, and I’m actually doing a presentation on the day we read selections from Jean Rhys and Louise Bennett. I haven’t really been enjoying this class as much as I hoped I would at the beginning of the term. We discuss the readings every day, and it gets really tedious having to talk about the same things class after class (we discussed North and South for six class periods).

I’m planning to get back into reading daily and finishing a book or two a week that isn’t related to class. I’m currently finishing up Three Kingdoms (for an Asian cultures class) and The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, which I’m loving so far. I am hoping to get those reviews out this coming week, and get back on track when it comes to reading for pleasure.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Adam
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 10:14:49

    It’s tough when you have to talk about the same book for a couple of weeks, especially when you’re not enjoying the book. My last semester in college I took a Fiction Appreciation class, and it was a lot of when we were reading short stories for the first 2/3 of the class. Even though I didn’t enjoy all of the stories, it was interesting to hear everyone’s opinion of them and then move on to the next story for the next day of class.

    The class was a lot harder to get through once we started reading the novels that the teacher selected for us. We read The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers and Tough Guys Don’t Dance by Norman Mailer, both of which I absolutely hated. It was also annoying to try and discuss them when the teacher is constantly asking us about the themes of the books and no one in the class (myself included) had much of an opinion about the books. Although I think that was in large part because most of the people in the class didn’t even read the books, but that’s a whole different story.

    Hopefully you’ll start enjoying the class more when you move onto new subjects. And if not, hopefully it doesn’t drag on for too much longer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

