Three to Get Deadly by Janet Evanovich

I don’t really want to describe the book, so I’m just going to give you the blurb.

A “saintly” old candy-store owner is on the lam–and bounty hunter extraordinaire Stephanie Plum is on the case. As the body count rises, Stephanie finds herself dealing with dead drug dealers and slippery fugitives on the chase of her life. And with the help of eccentric friends and family, Steph must see to it that this case doesn’t end up being her last…

Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, #3)

After reading the blurb, I wasn’t too excited about this book as I had no interest in an old candy-store owner. As I read the book, that didn’t change. I really didn’t care for most of the plot, which mostly entailed looking for the beloved Uncle Mo and avoiding Morelli like the plague. I only started enjoying it about 50 pages to the end. However, the writing was as enjoyable as ever, and I found myself writing down more quotes from this one than from the earlier two, so I thought I would share.

When a man’s got a nose looks like a penis he’s likely to do anything. It’s the sort of thing makes serial killers out of otherwise normal people.

That’s from Lula, Stephanie’s new partner-in-bounty hunting. She is an ex-ho who worked on Stark Street in One for the Money. She talks the talk, and although it was nice to see a new main character, I didn’t much like her. She isn’t too bright, but she’s plenty loud. These two other quotes are good descriptors of Stephanie’s personality.

I thought of Mary Lou’s kid with the graham crackers smeared in his hair, and felt better about being a bounty hunter. You see, it could always be worse, I thought. I could be a schoolteacher.

I might not be the most patient woman in the world, or the most glamorous, or the most athletic, but I’m right up there at the top of the line when it comes to resiliency.

Stephanie was as ‘good’ as ever, though her bounty hunting hasn’t improved much. Steph was afraid Morelli wanted to arrest her for her involvement in finding some dead bodies, so there wasn’t too much romance in this one. Morelli does stop over for dinner with her parents, and they assume he and Stephanie are dating.

Overall, if you’re not too committed to reading every book in the series, which is by no means necessary, I would say you could skip this one. It was good, but it definitely wasn’t great.

Leave a Reply

