The Gaia Wars by Kenneth G. Bennett

This was the first book I’ve ever finished on my Kindle, excluding comic books. It took me much longer to read than it would have as what I like to call, ‘real’ book form. I received this from Kenneth G. Bennett and Emlyn Chand from the Novel Publicity Blog Tour. I posted an interview with Kenneth a while back, and had planned to finish the book sooner, though like I said, it took much longer than it probably should have.

The Gaia Wars (Gaia Wars, #1)

We first learn that Warren, the main character, loves everything about nature, probably due to the fact that he grew up in a largely forested area. Warren is a middle schoolish boy (12?) who is required to complete community service because he played a dangerous prank on the family, the Finleys, who are determined to cut down most of his forested home in order to build new houses. He works in an old folks home (that is actually also inhabited by some younger-than-middle-aged people) to complete his hours.

Warren finds a medallion that leads him to two mysterious boulders where he learns of a force much more evil than the Finleys. This is where the story picks up. We also learn more about Warren’s parents, who were killed when he was very young. This book almost felt segmented into two books — one where everything is normal, maybe even boring, and one where everything is mystical and interesting. I enjoyed the second half much better than the first.

I also own the sequel, which I may or may not read in the upcoming weeks of break. The second half of The Gaia Wars got pretty interesting, and I hope the sequel has a slightly more mature feel. I almost wish the two would have been condensed into one book, and the ‘action’ in the first half of this book been cut down to maybe one third of its current length. Bennett sets up a very interesting story, but it takes much longer than feels natural to do so.

The premise for this book is pretty neat, however, I felt like I was a little too grown up to enjoy it as much as I could have. Although I feel any good story can break through whatever age set it was written for, I think this would have been more enjoyable had I read it in middle school. I am interested to know what happens next, so perhaps you can look forward to a review of Battle for Cascadia, the sequel.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adam
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 10:53:12

    I think that can be a problem when you’re reading children’s books as an adult. From you description of the book, it sounds like a middle-grade book (which is meant for middle grade people, age 9 to 14 or something like that).

    The few middle grade books that I’ve read recently didn’t really work out all that great for me, which is really why I don’t read many of them. I do however love YA books, basically because the only difference between YA and Adult books in Fantasy is that the YA books tend to be shorter. I’m all for reading huge novels, but it’s nice sometimes to see that the book only has 300-400 pages rather than 800+ pages.

    Reply

    • hannahrose42
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 19:47:14

      I would agree about YA books. I used to be a super scifi fan, and would read books closer to 1000 pages in length. It can definitely get tiring. When I started reading YA books, I couldn’t stop. Although now I love the longer fantasy books.

      Reply

  2. BooksForYAs
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 18:04:24

    Personally, I think a good book is good whatever audience the publisher puts it in. I liked Gaia Wars (got it from Novel Publicity, too), and didn’t think it was written down to a certain age.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Exodus 2022 by Kenneth G. Bennett | Realm of Reviews

Leave a Reply

