City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

This is the fourth installment in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. It follows Clary, Jace, and Simon as per the first three books. I do not recommend reading this review if you haven’t read the book yet. However, I also wouldn’t really recommend the book that highly so most of you can read on!

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)

I had to think for a little while before I remembered the actual plot of this novel. Most of the book consists of Clary wondering, “Does my boyfriend still love me?”, Simon wondering, “What is going on between Clary and her boyfriend?”, and Jace wondering, “Why am I having freaky sex/murder dreams about my girlfriend?”

I think the intended plot had something to do with babies being injected with demon blood and the fact that a ton of Shadowhunters are being murdered all around NYC. However, the book only remembers to touch on this after Clary feels guilty about thinking about nothing besides the latest weird makeout session she’s had and Simon gets over the fact he has, for pretty much no reason, three girls all clamoring to be his girlfriend.

Although the first three books in this series were really good YA novels with a little bit of romance, I don’t think this one finds that balance well. I found that most of the characters had gotten annoying from the last time I read about them. Perhaps I just don’t appreciate ‘romance’ novels as much as the next girl, but this ‘romance’ just didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

