Book Shopping

Although I love shopping at Barnes and Noble and I can’t recall the last time I left without at least one or two new books, I also love buying used books. Waverly, IA has some great little stores if you want to pick up a bunch of books for a really low price. I just went to Trinkets and Togs and Half Off Stuff with my friend and perused the books for a nice long while. I walked away with over 20 books for under $6.

Some of the titles (for myself) include: The Brothers Karamazov (Dostoyevsky), Shinju (Rowland), The Silmarillion (Tolkien), Shan (Lustbader) — this is actually a sequel, so I’ll have to find the first book, and a cute book titled, Dog (Pennac). When books are so cheap, I can’t help myself.

Shinju (Sano Ichiro, #1)The Silmarillion: The Epic History of the Elves in The Lord of the RingsShan (China Maroc, #2)Dog (Works in Translation)

Wish Christmas right around the corner, I just couldn’t resist buying my 2.5-year-old niece even more books than I bought myself. This includes 3 Clifford the Big Red Dog books, a book about the possible existence of alien life, a book about the changing seasons, four little golden books (originals! None of those flimsy new ones), a book of words, and a pop-up of the classic Three Little Pigs story.

I love buying ridiculous amounts of books for ridiculously low prices. Garage sales with books are like heaven for me. I also plan to look into the Goodwill in town after the holiday break from school.

My only question is, why do people get rid of books?! Even if I have a book I don’t particularly like, I will either keep it anyway or give it to someone I think might enjoy it. Is it just me that thinks it is strange to give away books? I suppose you can look at it as a smart donation. What do you think?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Adam
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 20:37:38

    Getting rid of books?

    NEVER!

    I keep all of my books, and that includes my textbooks from school (at least from my major anyway). There’s always a chance I’ll read the book again, or if nothing else I can always let someone else read the book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

