Avatar: The Last Airbender — The Promise, Part 1

The first thing I thought when I started reading this was, “Ahhhhhh.” It was nice to slip back into the Avatar universe, and it feels like it’s been a long time since the show came out. The graphic novel is supposed to be released in 2012. I don’t really know why it will take so long to get this out there… Anyway, The Promise, Part 1 starts off right where the show ended. I’m sorry for those of you who haven’t seen it, because this review will be filled with show spoilers. Consider yourself duly warned.

The Last Airbender: The Promise Part 1

We start off with the intro to the first episode of the show, where Katara finds Aang in the ice, and they begin their adventures. …Skipping ahead the time passed in the show plus one year… Zuko is now Fire Lord, and he and Aang come up with the Harmony Restoration Movement to rid the other three nations of Fire Nation occupation. Aang makes a promise to Zuko that if he ever becomes like Fire Lord Ozai, Aang will “end him.”

Aang and Katara have finally moved past the awkward friend stage, right into the awkward calling-each-other-sweetie phase. I’m not sure I liked how that happens, since this is the first I’ve known about them after the show. However, I really like how Zuko comes across. I think they did a great job building his character.

This is a pretty short comic, but was still quite enjoyable. It was fun to get back into the Avatar verse. The ending also made me excited for The Promise, Part 2, which I believe comes out in either May (so says the book) or June (so says Goodreads) 2012, which is too long to wait comfortably, but I guess I’ll have to.

If you liked the show, or you’ve read any of the other comics Dark Horse has put out about it, you will definitely enjoy this. If you haven’t seen the show, I would recommend watching some of it, as this will make pretty much no sense without it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BooksforYAs
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 23:18:58

    Is this a comic book or a graphic novel? I’m basically asking how long this is, as I and my family all love Avatar (bummed about the second live-action movie not being made [yet???]) and would love to read more.

    Reply

    • hannahrose42
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 19:28:03

      It is more of a long comic. It’s just over 80 pages. It was neat to see what happened after the show.

      Reply

  2. Adam
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 10:05:25

    This is one series that I’ve never watched, although I’ve heard some good things about it. I think my little brother has at least part of the series on DVD, so I might have to steal… er, borrow that from from him and watch it eventually.

    Reply

    • hannahrose42
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 19:30:36

      It is definitely worth your time. It’s serious, and yet lighthearted. If you have netflix, it’s on instant. If you don’t, why not? Haha.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Avatar comments | Marybuyshouses

Leave a Reply

