The Mortal Instruments (1-3) by Cassandra Clare

Amid the feasting and family fun over Thanksgiving break, I decided to relax on all the reading I’ve been doing of new books. I revisited The Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones, City of Ashes, and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to ‘review’ these books because who really wants to look deeply into something they, on the best of days, would call a guilty pleasure? I tried to be subjective about the characters, and realized they’re not realistic in a way that I might see them on the street or know them as my friends or even be them myself. However, that may be expected as this series  is magical realism at its best, where there are mundanes, boring humans like myself, and those who have the Sight.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)

In City of Bones, we are introduced to Simon and Clary, mundane friends who have rather normal lives. This all changes when one night in Clary’s favorite club, Pandemonium, she sees a strange boy with electric blue hair being followed by someone with a knife. While Simon cannot see these people, Clary can. This small event changes her life forever. When she comes home later that night, her mother is missing and a Ravener demon attacks her. This leads her to The Institute, where she meets Jace Wayland and Alec and Isabelle Lightwood, young shadowhunters.

This book sets up the others fantastically. You learn of the Downworlders: werewolves, vampires, faeries, and warlocks and the protectors of the human world: Shadowhunters. This is where Clary learns many things she’ll need to know in the coming books. If nothing else, you should check out this book to see if you will like the series.

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)

Now, children of Downworlders, a faerie, warlock, and werewolf, were slaughtered and drained of blood. The Clave (Shadowhunter government) blames the vampires, but they swear it is not their doing. Clary, Jace, and Simon start to team up to protect the people they love.

This book feels a little more awkward, not in writing, but in plot. I can’t give away why, but I’ll just say it may be uncomfortable for some people who like traditional relationships… but then again, if you do, why are you reading these books? Overall, it is still a good read.

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)

There isn’t a lot I can say about this book without giving away major plot points in the first two books. I will mention that quite a few new (exciting) characters and a beautiful new setting are introduced. Before I knew there was going to be another three books in the series, I thought this book ended the series very well.

I would say I sighed from relief at the end of this story. It was very satisfying, and at this point I would say I don’t care if it’s unrealistic because I loved it. If you made it through the first two, this one breezes on through until the end. I can’t wait to read #4, City of Fallen Angels.

Leave a Reply

