Favorite Quotes

I thought I would start off Wednesday with some nice thoughts about literature, and what better way to do so than to use others’ words? Here are some of my favorite literary quotes.

“There is no surer foundation for a beautiful friendship than a mutual taste in literature.”
P.G. Wodehouse

“I try to leave out the parts that people skip.”
Elmore Leonard

“Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don’t we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we’re partisans of liberty, then it’s our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
J.R.R. Tolkien

“Do you realize that all great literature is all about what a bummer it is to be a human being? Isn’t it such a relief to have somebody say that?”
Kurt Vonnegut, A Man Without a Country

“Everywhere I go I’m asked if I think the university stifles writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them. There’s many a best-seller that could have been prevented by a good teacher.”
Flannery O’Connor

“Substitute ‘damn’ every time you’re inclined to write ‘very;’ your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.”
Mark Twain

I also thought I would include this sad Cracked.com article. It lists reasons we are in a new book-burning period. It’s sad to admit, but I feel like it’s true.

http://www.cracked.com/article_19453_6-reasons-were-in-another-book-burning-period-in-history.html?wa_user1=3&wa_user2=Weird+World&wa_user3=article&wa_user4=feature_module

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Angela Wrage
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 18:00:29

    So… I love the Wodehouse and O’Connor quotes…

    and the Clemens one…

    and the rest of them, as well. Good work! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

