Rage: After the Impact

After receiving quite a few graphic novels from one of my favorite publishers, Dark Horse Books, I chose to read and review Rage: After the Impact.

This is the first time I've read a graphic novel as an ebook. It was interesting, to say the least.

Rage: After the Impact is an introduction story to id Software’s game, RAGE. The story follows the brief beginnings of Dr. Elizabeth Cadence’s life after awakening from sleep in a cryogenic ark. A deadly meteor, Apophis, was headed for Earth, so the government took preemptive measures and saved the lives of many who would be necessary to rebuild humanity. Approximately 5,000,000 people were killed by the meteor. As Rage indicates, “They were the lucky ones.”

Once awakened from her cryo ark, Dr. Cadence is attacked by ‘Wastelanders’ and saved by The Authority, or the new form of government in this post-apocalyptic world. Once inside the scientific facility, she senses something amiss with the research that is being done on the mutants, the humans who have supposedly come into contact with feltrite, a substance from Apophis.

Arvid Nelson does a great job of building an interesting relationship between Drs Antonin Kvasir and Cadence. I am truly interested to see where Kvasir ends up. With his new outlook… he could go anywhere. Cadence, on the other hand, I see getting into a lot of trouble due to her gung-ho attitude.

Near the end of Rage: AtI, I was reminded of Serenity, a movie based on one of my favorite (one-season) shows, Firefly. I personally love being reminded that humans are often to blame for some of the bad things in this world, and that we have many faults, greed being a large one.

This was a fantastic snippet of what I imagine to be a great story line for a video game. I enjoyed this story, and can’t wait for the full novel, Rage, and the video game from id Software to experience more of this world.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: secomasam
  2. Green
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 00:55:14

    RAGE looks like quite the game. The graphics are quite in detail and the terrain was developed in such way it gives the game a bigger look which is what most people would want to see out of one of these games. RAGE may turn out to be a good game but right now has barely any attention from most gamers. id software will have to advertise this game well for it to turn out to be a major success in there eyes. From gameplay video shown on the site, I can tell that this game will probably have tons of activities and places to explore within the parameters of the story line.

    Also I remember seeing Firefly in my English class, was a great show.

    Reply

  3. hannahrose42
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 20:01:31

    I would agree with that. I honestly hadn’t even heard of the game before I saw an ad in Walmart the other day. I was immediately drawn into the advertisement, though. It definitely looks worth playing.

    Reply

  4. Catherina Teslow
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:17:49

    As a Newbie, I am always browsing online for articles that can help me. Thank you

    Reply

  5. theater
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 05:35:52

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

    Reply

  6. Burberry Wool Scarf
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 09:27:39

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

